Andrelton Simmons and &..."/> Andrelton Simmons and &..."/> Andrelton Simmons and &..."/>

Andrelton Simmons, Jason Heyward win Fielding Bible Awards


Andrelton Simmons and Jason Heyward were both announced as Fielding Bible Award winners for 2014  and the Atlanta Braves were one of just two teams (along with the Kansas City Royals) to have two players named as winners.

Both Simmons and Heyward have long been thought of as defensive leaders for their respective positions, and with this announcement, they both have their second Fielding Bible Award.

Here is the complete list of award winners in the ninth year of this defensive award:

"Multi-Position – Lorenzo Cain, Kansas City RoyalsFirst Base – Adrian Gonzalez, Los Angeles DodgersSecond Base – Dustin Pedroia, Boston Red SoxThird Base – Josh Donaldson, Oakland AthleticsShortstop – Andrelton Simmons, Atlanta BravesLeft Field – Alex Gordon, Kansas City RoyalsCenter Field – Juan Lagares, New York MetsRight Field – Jason Heyward, Atlanta BravesCatcher – Jonathan Lucroy, Milwaukee BrewersPitcher – Dallas Keuchel, Houston Astros"

The Fielding Bible Award differs from the Gold Glove in that it is much more focused on advanced defensive metrics, specifically Defensive Runs Saved and Ultimate Zone Rating. In addition, the Fielding Bible honors just one player at each position for all of MLB instead of one player for each league. This year, the multi-position category was added for the first time.

Simmons, Heyward and Justin Upton are also candidates for Gold Glove Awards.